Is Meat Gluten-Free?

Is Meat Gluten-Free?

Yes, meat is naturally gluten-free. Plain, fresh cuts of meat, including beef, poultry (chicken, turkey, etc), rabbit, lamb and fish/seafood meat, are all gluten-free.

However, be careful with breaded or floured meats, which typically contain wheat and therefore gluten. Watch out for meats marinated or covered in sauces and broths, and be sure to read labels and check for any added ingredients. Soy and teriyaki sauces typically contain gluten, so meats marinated in these sauces are usually unsafe for those with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

When purchasing hams, hot dogs or sausages, or imitation meats, choose gluten-free certified products. When it comes to deli meats, also look for certified gluten-free products and watch out for potential cross-contact sources such as slicers, knives, and nearby gluten-containing foods.

Additionally, avoid poultry and meat products that do not list the source of dextrin or starch on the product label.

Is Bacon Gluten-Free?

While plain bacon is naturally guten-free, some brands may contain flavorings or additives with gluten.

Plain bacon is made from pork belly, spices, sugar and nitratres. However, be on the lookout for gluten-containing dextrins and starches and flavors containing soy or teriyaki sauce in certain bacon brands or flavors. Many brands of bacon are gluten-free, but for added certainty, look for the gluten-free label when purchasing.

Additionally, be wary of bacon served in breakfast buffets – sometimes they may have slices of bread placed underneath them to soak up the grease. They may also have come into contact with gluten-containing foods in the kitchen or from shared serving spoons along the buffet.

OUR PARTNERS