Is Dextrin Gluten-Free? | BeyondCeliac.org
X You may need to Reload the page to make it work correctly.

Is Dextrin Gluten-Free?

Whether dextrin is gluten-free or not depends on its original source.

In the United States, dextrin is often made from gluten-free ingredients such as corn or tapioca, making it gluten-free. Sometimes dextrin is made from wheat. Most foods in the United States that contain dextrin made from wheat will label it as so. However dextrin is typically so highly processed that it is generally considered safe for individuals with celiac disease and other gluten-related disorders to consume (as it would contain less than 20 ppm of gluten, making it legal to be labeled gluten-free). However, some people still react to even the tiniest amount of gluten, so be sure to read labels and do what feels right to you.

 

OUR SPONSORS & PARTNERS

Advertise with us

  • Gluten Detective
  • Boar's Head 2019
  • 2019 Symposium
  • Gluten-Free Resource Directory
  • Look for the Beyond Celiac logo and shop gluten-free with confidence.


DO YOU THINK YOU MAY HAVE CELIAC DISEASE?

Complete our Celiac Disease Symptoms Checklist today to find out if you could have celiac disease and how to talk to your doctor about getting tested.