Sami’s Bakery Products with Millet Found Unsafe for People with Celiac Disease

July 19, 2016

Sami’s Bakery Products with Millet Found Unsafe for People with Celiac Disease

Products that contain millet flour from the packaged food company Sami’s Bakery have high amounts of gluten and should not be consumed by anyone with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity.

According to Gluten-Free Watch Dog, three millet-based products from Sami’s Bakery were found to contain over 80,000 parts per million (ppm) of gluten, which suggests the products contain 25-30% wheat flour. Although the products are not labeled gluten-free, they also do not list wheat flour as an ingredient and instead bear the statement “Contains traces of gluten, wheat and yeast.” Be careful to avoid these products if you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, as they are often sold in the gluten-free or low-gluten section of stores.

Read the full report here.

OUR PARTNERS