Mobile menu

Koyo Brand Rice Ramen Noodle Soup Product Advisory

August 16, 2023

Two flavors of Koyo Rice Ramen Noodle Soup are labeled gluten-free, though they currently include malt syrup in their list of ingredients. The manufacturer has clarified that the malt syrup is derived from corn, and they intend to update the ingredients list accordingly.

The two flavors are:

  • Koyo Rice Ramen Noodle Soup Spicy Kimchi  
  • Koyo Rice Ramen Noodle Soup Wakame Miso

The FDA has clarified that the terms “malt syrup” and “malt extract” without qualification refer to “barley malt syrup” and “barley malt extract.” The FDA requires manufacturers to revise labels in cases where ingredient designations are inaccurate.

The gluten-free certification on the package is that of the BRCGS Gluten-Free Certification Program (GFCP), a food safety-based gluten management system for manufacturers, which is endorsed by Beyond Celiac. 

BRCGS’ Response

According to a spokesman, “BRCGS has been made aware of two Koyo brand Rice Ramen Noodle Soup products bearing the Beyond Celiac trademark which indicate the use of Malt Syrup or Malt Sugar in the ingredients list. BRCGS has contacted the manufacturer and they have confirmed that both ingredients are derived from corn and not barley. The manufacturer has provided documentary evidence from an accredited 3rd party laboratory spanning the last three calendar years confirming that gluten was not detected in either product.

The manufacturer has agreed to amend both product labels to indicate corn as the source in both ingredients. They are also required to re-submit the amended product labels to BRCGS for formal approval at the earliest opportunity. BRCGS would like to reassure the celiac community that this is a labeling error and that the products are verifiably gluten-free. The factory in which these products are made is dedicated gluten-free and has a valid certification to our Gluten-Free Certification Program.

We apologize for any confusion or distress caused to consumers.”

Beyond Celiac Comments

Claire Baker, Senior Communications Director for Beyond Celiac added, “Our foremost concern is with the health of our community. We are very pleased that no one with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity has been at risk if they have consumed either of these soups.” She went on to say, “Our community needs for manufacturers to adhere strenuously to the FDA labeling guidelines to prevent confusion and maximize safety.”

Think you may have celiac disease?

Symptoms Checklist