Caramel is typically gluten-free. Caramel is usually made from a mixture of sugar, water, vanilla, milk and salt, therefore it would contain no gluten. However, make sure when buying foods containing caramel or that are caramel sauces/products that they do not list any gluten-containing ingredients on their labels, or look for certified gluten-free products for maximum safety from gluten.
Caramel color in North America is also typically gluten-free. You can read more about caramel coloring and gluten on our ‘Is Caramel Color Gluten-Free?’ page.