Is Caramel Color Gluten-Free? | BeyondCeliac.org
X You may need to Reload the page to make it work correctly.

Is Caramel Color Gluten-Free?

Yes, caramel color in North America is typically gluten-free, although you should read labels just to be sure.

According to celiac disease expert Tricia Thompson, MS, RD, of Gluten-Free Dietitian, caramel color is an additive made by heating any number of carbohydrates, which could include dextrose, invert sugar, lactose, malt syrup, molasses, starch hydrolysates (like glucose syrup) and sucrose.  In North America, wheat is typically not used as a starting ingredient in caramel coloring.  Instead, corn is generally used in the U.S.  If wheat is used in caramel coloring, the label must say so per the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA).  In general, if caramel coloring is included on an ingredients label, but does not list wheat as an allergen, it should be safe for people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity.

Beyond Celiac encourages you to learn more about caramel color from Tricia Thompson here on GlutenFreeDietitian.com.

 

<< See more frequently asked questions about the gluten-free diet

OUR SPONSORS & PARTNERS

Advertise with us

  • Gluten Detective
  • Look for the Beyond Celiac logo and shop gluten-free with confidence.
  • Gluten-Free Resource Directory


DO YOU THINK YOU MAY HAVE CELIAC DISEASE?

Complete our Celiac Disease Symptoms Checklist today to find out if you could have celiac disease and how to talk to your doctor about getting tested.