Mobile menu
Home » Hidden Gluten in Dental and Cosmetic Products

Hidden Gluten in Dental and Cosmetic Products

March 15, 2011

Hidden Gluten in Dental and Cosmetic Products

March 15, 2011


What would be the ingredient names to avoid while choosing gluten-free dental products, makeup and skin care?




Hi Camille. To ease your mind, gluten cannot be absorbed through the skin. However, if a product containing gluten comes into contact with your lips or mouth, such as makeup or lipstick, the gluten can be ingested that way.

If you feel better avoiding gluten-containing skin products, below is a list of ingredients to watch out for. It is not a comprehensive list, but it is a good start. Because there are so many skin care and dental products on the market, it’s best to call the manufacturer prior to using their particular products.

  • Hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • Hydrolyzed wheat starch
  • Hydrolyzed wheat gluten
  • Triticum vulgare
  • Wheat germ oil
  • Wheat germ extract
  • Wheat germ glycerides
  • Vitamin E derived from wheat germ
  • Oat bran
  • Oat flour
  • Oat extract
  • Oat protein
  • Avena sativa
  • Barley extract
  • Barley solids
  • Samino peptide complex
  • Hordeum vulgare
  • Phytosphingosine extract

For dental products, it is best to contact the manufacturer of the products you use. Another tip: Call your dentist’s office a couple weeks ahead of your check up to let them know you can’t use any products that have gluten in it.


Rachel Begun, MS, RD


Think you may have celiac disease?

Symptoms Checklist