Is Vinegar Gluten-Free? | BeyondCeliac.org
X You may need to Reload the page to make it work correctly.

Is Vinegar Gluten-Free?

Yes, pure distilled vinegar is gluten-free. Flavored and seasoned vinegars may contain gluten, most typically in the form of malt, so ingredient lists should be carefully read. If wheat protein is contained in vinegar, the label will say so. The single word “vinegar” on a food label implies cider/apple vinegar and is gluten-free.  Malt vinegar is not gluten-free, as malt is derived from the gluten-containing grain barley.

For a more in-depth breakdown on the gluten-free status of vinegar, visit GlutenFreeDietitian.com, which is maintained by celiac disease and gluten-free diet expert Tricia Thompson, MS, RD.

 

<< See more frequently asked questions about the gluten-free diet

OUR SPONSORS & PARTNERS

Advertise with us

  • Gluten Detective
  • celiac disease research symposium
  • step beyond celiac virtual walk for celiac research
  • Look for the Beyond Celiac logo and shop gluten-free with confidence.
  • Gluten-Free Resource Directory


DO YOU THINK YOU MAY HAVE CELIAC DISEASE?

Complete our Celiac Disease Symptoms Checklist today to find out if you could have celiac disease and how to talk to your doctor about getting tested.