Are Potatoes Gluten-Free? | BeyondCeliac.org
X You may need to Reload the page to make it work correctly.

Are Potatoes Gluten-Free?

Yes, potatoes don't contain gluten and are therefore gluten-free.

Things to Remember When Eating Potatoes

While potatoes in their natural form don't have gluten, it's important to know where cross-contact can occur, or where added ingredients may make potatoes no longer safe for people with celiac disease. In a restaurant, for instance, potatoes could be boiled in water that once boiled something with gluten, like pasta. This would cause cross-contact and would be enough to make a person with celiac disease experience a reaction. Similarly, pots, pans, knives and various cooking surfaces can cause cross-contact. If any surface has come into contact with gluten, it must be thoroughly washed with warm, soapy water or cleaned in the dishwasher. Porous surfaces, like a wooden utensil or cutting board, can have gluten trapped in the cracks, which could also cause cross-contact and make potatoes no longer gluten-free.

A sauce that contains gluten could also make a potato no longer gluten-free. When eating packaged potatoes or ordering potatoes, always be sure to check/ask for the ingredients included in any sauce or toppings.

Potato Flour

Potato flour is a common gluten-free alternative for gluten-containing flours. Potato flour is made by grinding potato roots and removing the fibrous material. Potato flour is most commonly used to thicken sauces and is generally included in gluten-free flour blends because it adds moisture to baked goods.
 

<< See more frequently asked questions about the gluten-free diet

OUR SPONSORS & PARTNERS

Advertise with us

  • Gluten Detective
  • Look for the Beyond Celiac logo and shop gluten-free with confidence.
  • Gluten-Free Resource Directory


DO YOU THINK YOU MAY HAVE CELIAC DISEASE?

Complete our Celiac Disease Symptoms Checklist today to find out if you could have celiac disease and how to talk to your doctor about getting tested.