Is Maltodextrin Gluten-Free?
The ingredient maltodextrin is gluten-free , despite including the word “malt,” which is typically an indication that barley is used.
Maltodextrin is a common food additive used in food production. It can be found in a variety of processed foods, including many soft drinks, candies and even some beers. It’s often used as a thickening agent and therefore is used in some infant formulas.
Maltodextrin is typically gluten-free even when derived from wheat, due to the nature of its processing. It is generally considered safe for both those with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity.