Is Vodka Gluten-Free?

Yes, pure, distilled vodka, even if made with wheat, barley, or rye, is considered gluten-free.

Most vodkas are safe for people with celiac disease because of the distillation process. However, be on the lookout for hidden gluten in vodkas that may add flavorings or other ingredients after distillation. Vodka is typically just water and ethenol but sometimes can contain traces of other ingredients. There is also a risk for gluten cross-contact in facilities that process products containing wheat, barley, or rye.

Common Brands of Vodka:

  • Absolut
  • Tito’s – “Our vodka is distilled from corn, so it’s naturally gluten-free. We’re certified Gluten-Free by the Gluten Intolerance Group (GIG). Some folks add a bit of mash back into the spirit after distillation, which could add gluten, but we don’t do that.”
  • Smirnoff – “Smirnoff 90 Proof Vodka is Kosher Certified and gluten free.”
  • Stolichnaya – “Introducing the new standard, THE Vodka, now available in gluten free. Harvested from our fertile corn and buckwheat fields, the result is a gluten-free vodka, crafted from our fields for your glass. 88% corn and 12% buckwheat.”
  • Grey Goose – “Only Grey Goose uses single origin Picardie wheat and water from our natural limestone well in Gensac-La-Pallue to craft a gluten free spirit of exceptional character.”
  • Three Olives
  • Burnett’s -“100% gluten free.”
  • Ketel One
  • Svedka
  • New Amsterdam

Any information on the gluten content of particular brands shared above was obtained during the last update of this page. Be sure to check with the manufacturer for the latest info or if you have any questions.

OUR PARTNERS