Is Mezcal Gluten-Free?

Yes, pure, distilled mezcal is considered gluten-free. Like tequila, mezcal is made from the agave plant. However, be on the lookout for hidden gluten in mezcal brands that may add flavorings or other additives after distillation. There is also a risk for gluten cross-contact in facilities that process products containing wheat, barley, or rye. Read more at Answers from a Dietitian.

Common Brands of Mezcal:

  • Casamigos
  • Del Maguey
  • Montelobos
  • Monte Alban
  • El Buho
  • Alipus San Juan del Rio
  • El Silencio
  • Dos Hombres
OUR PARTNERS