Flaxseed comes from the flax plant and is not related to wheat, barley or rye. Therefore, flaxseed/linseed is considered safe for individuals with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity.
Flaxseed is high in omega-3 fatty acids, as well as fiber, and is commonly used as a natural way to relieve constipation.
You’ll find flaxseed in gluten-free flours, egg replacers, granola, and oil (linseed oil).
As with all seeds, be cautious about potential cross-contact. If possible, buy flaxseed products that are labeled gluten-free. Check the product label before enjoying to ensure there hasn’t been cross-contact, and if you have further questions, contact the manufacturer.