It depends. Traditional hoisin sauce recipes are gluten-free, but today most commercially available hoisin sauces are made with wheat, either to thicken the sauce or in added soy sauce.
If you have celiac disease, only eat hoisin sauce labeled gluten-free. You may be able to find gluten-free versions in your local grocery store or online retailers.
Hoisin sauce is a sweet and salty sauce used often as a marinade. It is most closely associated with Cantonese (Southeast Chinese) cuisine. Recipes vary but usually contain mashed soybeans, red chili, garlic and fennel. Sugar and vinegar are frequently added. Today the sauce is sometimes thickened with sweet potato or rice starch, but wheat starch is also used.
Try it as a marinade for meats, a dipping sauce for lettuce wraps, duck or pork. It can also add an excellent depth of flavor to a soup dish like pho.
What if your recipe calls for hoisin sauce but you don’t have any gluten-free bottles on hand? Try these substitutes!