No, egg noodles are not gluten-free.
Egg noodles are made from two ingredients: eggs and wheat flour. They tend to be flat and long, though there are some short and thin varieties.
Different names for egg noodles include:
As you can see, egg noodles are a versatile ingredient, and can be found in soups and pasta dishes from all over the world.
You don’t have to miss out on egg noodles! Try ordering gluten-free versions online or make your own at home, replacing the wheat flour in a recipe with a 1:1 gluten-free flour substitute. A bowl of egg noodles found in China and dated to 4,000 years ago was actually made with the gluten-free grains millet and sorghum, so try substituting in these gluten-free grains to make noodles like the ones the ancients ate.