Home » The Gluten-Free Diet » Is It Gluten-Free? » Is Candy Gluten-Free?
Download the Gluten-Free Getting Started Guide
OUR PARTNERS

Is Candy Gluten-Free?

Is Candy Gluten-Free?

Some candies are gluten-free while others are not. Some may have no gluten-containing ingredients but still not be safe for those with celiac disease due to cross-contamination on manufacturing lines. Some mini versions of products have different ingredients from the original size. It’s always best to read labels and check regularly, in case ingredients or facilities have changed. If you’re unsure, contact the manufacturer directly.

Note: Beyond Celiac is a US-based company, therefore this list is primarily for those buying candy in the US. Some candies may be produced in different ways in different countries. This list is updated infrequently, so it’s always good practice to double-check with the manufacturer.

Gluten-Free Candy by Maker

Hershey

Hershey keeps an updated list on their website. Their gluten-free candies include:

  • Almond Joy – all except Almond Joy Pieces candy
  • Heath
  • Hershey’s milk chocolate kisses
  • Hershey’s milk chocolate bars (1.55oz only)
  • Milk Duds
  • Mounds
  • Payday
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups – all except seasonal shaped items
  • Rolo Caramels in Milk Chocolate Candies – all except Rolo Minis
  • York Peppermint Patties – all except York Pieces Candy, Sugar Free Peppermint Patties, York Minis, and York Shapes (5 oz.)

Hershey candy that does not contain gluten but is not explicitly gluten-free includes:

  • Jolly Ranchers

Hershey candy that contains gluten includes:

  • Twizzlers
  • Kit Kat
  • Whoppers

Mars Wrigley

Mars Wrigley does not specifically label any of their products gluten-free, but state that they will include any gluten-containing ingredients on their labels. The following Mars candies have no gluten-containg ingredients:

  • M&Ms (except pretzel, crispy, and potentially seasonal items)
  • Milky Way Caramel Bars (not the original Milky Way Bar)
  • Snickers Bars
  • 3 Musketeers
  • Dove Chocolate products (all flavors except milk chocolate cinnamon graham/cookies and cream, and some holiday varieties, such as milk chocolate truffles)
  • Lifesavers (gummies, hards, and mints)

The following Mars products, among others, are not gluten-free:

  • Twix
  • Maltesers
  • Mars Bars (does not contain wheat, but does have barley malt)

Nestlé

Nestlé calls out a few of their candies as being gluten-free, these include but are not limited to:

  • Butterfinger Bars, fun size
  • Butterfinger Bars, single
  • Goobers
  • Raisinets

They also have candies with no gluten-containing ingredients, but not labeled gluten-free, including:

  • Baby Ruth
  • Oh-Henry!
  • Sno-caps
  • Pixy Stix

The following Nestle products, among others, are not gluten-free:

  • Nerds
  • 100 Grand

Ferrara

Ferrara says on their website: “For every Ferrara product that contains allergens, we list a CONTAINS statement […] If there is no CONTAINS statement following the ingredient list, then the product has no allergens. Additionally, Ferrara uses a MADE IN statement, which reflects any allergens within the manufacturing facility where the product is made out.” However, they do not keep a list of gluten-free candies on their website.

Candy from Ferrara that does not have gluten-containing ingredients include:

  • Laffy Taffy
  • Jujyfruits
  • Brach’s Naturally-Flavored Candy Corn (labeled gluten-free)
  • Trolli gummy worms
  • Sweet Tarts (original and chewy)
  • Gobstopper

Enjoy Life

Enjoy Life has a range of chocolate bars that are gluten-free including:

  • Enjoy Life Dark Chocolate Bar
  • Enjoy Life Ricemilk Chocolate Bar
  • Enjoy Life Ricemilk Crunch
  • Enjoy Life Winter Dark Chocolate Minis

Mondelez

Mondelez has candy that does not use gluten-containing ingredients, but they do not always use dedicated lines. If a candy was not produced on a dedicated line, it should say that on the packaging. Candies without gluten-containing ingredients include:

  • Swedish Fish
  • Sour Patch Kids

Other

Additional gluten-free candies include:

  • Mike and Ike
  • Kerr’s Fiesta Pops
  • Tootsie Rolls
  • Junior Mints
  • Tootsie Pops
  • Jelly Belly Beans
  • Dots
  • Charleston Chew
  • Smarties
  • Skittles
  • Starburst
  • Atomic Fireballs
  • Lemonhead
  • Red Hot’s
  • Tic Tacs

To learn more about gluten and candy, please watch the recording of our Facebook Live video, where we discuss gluten-free Halloween candy and chocolate bars:


Learn more:

OUR PARTNERS

Think you may have celiac disease?

Symptoms Checklist