Are Beans Gluten-Free?

Are Beans Gluten-Free?

beansYes, pure beans like black beans or pinto beans are naturally gluten-free. They’re also a good source of fiber, protein and vitamins for those on a gluten-free diet.

However, use caution when purchasing canned beans with any additives; read labels and make sure no added wheat starch or wheat flour or other gluten-containing ingredients were added. Additionally, dry beans may become contaminated with gluten via cross-contamination, depending on where and how they were grown and packaged, so therefore it’s encouraged to wash beans prior to cooking and eating. Avoid purchasing dry beans from bulk bins because of the risk of cross-contamination with gluten-containing grains.

Use caution when ordering beans in restaurants as they may be prepared with gluten-containing ingredients or become contaminated via cross-contact. If you’re still wary or unsure about a particular bean product, stick to certified gluten-free options.

Learn more about beans on our page, Beans, Peas and Lentils: Gluten-Free Powerhouses.

OUR PARTNERS