What should I do if I suspect that a product labeled gluten-free is not truly gluten-free?
If you suspect that a packaged product labeled gluten-free made you ill or is mislabeled, save the box. Contact the manufacturer using the phone number on the packaging or on the company’s website. Provide the manufacturer with the barcode number on the package, the “sell by” or “use by” date, the date and location of purchase and your reason for making the complaint. Then contact your FDA Consumer Complaint Coordinator and the store where you purchased the product.
If you believe a gluten-free menu item in a restaurant is not gluten-free, speak to the manager immediately. Provide written documentation, if possible. Contact your local or state health department if you believe that the restaurant is marketing a gluten-free menu without an understanding of gluten-free ingredients and processes.
Natalie Menza, RD
Corporate Dietitian for ShopRite Supermarkets