Gluten and Caramel Coloring
June 19, 2012
How do I know what caramel coloring is bad? I am fairly new to celiac and trying to figure out what items bother me.
Your location is not listed, but if you are in the USA, I can answer your question. According to Dr. Peter Green in his book Celiac Disease A Hidden Epidemic, p.281, Caramel color is made from corn in the US and is considered safe. Shelly Case also states that Caramel Color is made from corn in North America and is considered safe in her book Gluten Free Diet A Comprehensive Resource, p. 20-21.
Nancy Dickens, BS, RD, LDN