June 23, 2015
I’ve read that caramel coloring should be gluten-free in the US, but I sometimes have symptoms like I’ve been glutened when I drink soda. Could caramel coloring cause the same symptoms?
Caramel coloring in the United States is usually derived from corn, so exposure to gluten shouldn’t be an issue. Caramel coloring in products manufactured in other countries may be derived from wheat, however, it is refined to the point where there is no gluten so imported products shouldn’t be an issue either.
If you are experiencing symptoms when drinking soda, other factors may be at play. Without knowing your personal medical history, though, I don’t want to speculate as to why you are having symptoms when drinking soda. It should not be a result of consuming gluten, though.
I recommend raising the issue with your healthcare team who knows your medical history and can address it and provide you with a personalized treatment plan.
Rachel Begun, MS, RDN