Is Wheatgrass Gluten-Free? | BeyondCeliac.org
X You may need to Reload the page to make it work correctly.

Is Wheatgrass Gluten-Free?

gluten and wheat grassWheatgrass is gluten-free when harvested from a growing wheat plant without any seeds.

Wheatgrass is the fresh sprouted leaves of the wheat plant. When people hear wheat, they automatically think gluten. However, the actual grass itself does not contain gluten, which is only found in the seed kernels of the wheat plant, not in its grasses. If the grass is cut at an appropriate time before it’s allowed to grow seeds, it should be gluten-free. Unfortunately, there is a risk of cross-contamination when it comes to wheatgrass and there’s always the unknown of when exactly it was cultivated.

Additionally, if you are allergic to wheat, you should also avoid wheatgrass entirely. If you have celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity, we recommend being cautious, asking questions and looking for certified gluten-free products when it comes to wheatgrass. 

OUR SPONSORS & PARTNERS

Advertise with us

  • Gluten Detective
  • Boar's Head 2019
  • Look for the Beyond Celiac logo and shop gluten-free with confidence.
  • Gluten-Free Resource Directory


DO YOU THINK YOU MAY HAVE CELIAC DISEASE?

Complete our Celiac Disease Symptoms Checklist today to find out if you could have celiac disease and how to talk to your doctor about getting tested.