Is Sorghum Gluten-Free? | BeyondCeliac.org
X You may need to Reload the page to make it work correctly.

Is Sorghum Gluten-Free?

Yes, sorghum is gluten-free. Sorghum is gluten-free and is a great alternative to gluten-containing grains. It is a nutritionally dense whole grain that gives a higher amount of protein, iron, and numerous other vitamins and minerals than the much-touted quinoa.

Nutrient Dense with Vitamins and Minerals

Sorghum contains a lot of vitamins and minerals that make it an excellent dietary choice. Sorghum has (values per 100 g)

  • Protein – 10.62 g
  • Iron – 3.36 mg
  • Vitamin B6 – 0.443 mg
  • Potassium – 363 mg
  • Niacin – 3.688
  • Magnesium – 165 mg
  • Phosphorous – 289 mg

Information from USDA Agricultural Research Service National Nutrient Database for standard reference- release 27

Things to Remember When Eating Sorghum

Even though sorghum is a gluten-free grain, purchase sorghum that is explicitly labeled gluten-free because of its high risk for cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. As with other items, avoid buying sorghum from bulk bins at the grocery store, since cross-contact can easily occur if other shoppers share scoops between the various bins.

Tricia Thompson, MS, RD of Gluten-Free Watchdog studied gluten contamination in naturally gluten-free grains. Get more information on Gluten-Free Watchdog:

When ordering dishes with sorghum at a restaurant, be sure to ask about the way it’s prepared to make sure it hasn’t come into contact with gluten-containing items or utensils. For more tips on eating gluten-free in restaurants, download the free Beyond Celiac Dining Tips Sheet.

Celiac Disease Symptoms after Eating Sorghum

If you have symptoms after eating sorghum, double check the ingredients label to make sure no gluten-containing ingredients are added. Look for a gluten-free label on the package. If there are none, it’s possible that cross-contact has occurred during the growing and manufacturing process. For help on reading ingredients labels, head here.

Also review how the sorghum was cooked. Was a gluten-containing ingredient added, like chicken broth? Did cross-contact occur?

Some people with celiac disease are sensitive to grains in general, even those that are gluten-free. Your doctor or a dietitian knowledgeable of celiac disease can help you figure this out.

Check out a delicious sorghum recipe for “I Can't Believe It's Not Barley and Beef Soup!” from Beyond Celiac contributor Chef Oonagh Williams.

OUR SPONSORS & PARTNERS

Advertise with us

  • Gluten Detective
  • Look for the Beyond Celiac logo and shop gluten-free with confidence.
  • Gluten-Free Resource Directory


DO YOU THINK YOU MAY HAVE CELIAC DISEASE?

Complete our Celiac Disease Symptoms Checklist today to find out if you could have celiac disease and how to talk to your doctor about getting tested.