Seitan, another name for wheat gluten, is not gluten-free. Seitan (pronounced say-tann) is made by washing wheat flour dough until all the starch is removed and only the gluten protein remains. The protein is then cooked and served, often as a meat substitute in vegetarian and vegan dishes.
Seitan is also used in traditional dishes in China, Japan, and other Asian and Southeast Asian countries, and is popular as a meat substitute in Buddhist countries and areas. Vegetarians and vegans with celiac disease should definitely check any meat substitutes for seitan, especially if the product is not labeled “gluten-free.” Vegetarians and vegans with celiac disease should eat tofu, tempeh, or other meat substitutes instead.