Yes, sangria is typically gluten-free.
Sangria is a mixed alcoholic drink from the Iberian peninsula (Spain and Portugal). It has a long history dating back to the Roman Empire’s occupation of Spain, and its popularity has risen and fallen many times over the centuries. Sangria became popular in the United States after Spain sold the drink at the 1964 World’s Fair. It has been a common drink in the US ever since.
Ingredients usually consist of wine, a non-alcoholic base, a sweetener and chopped fruit. Red sangria, made with red wine, is the most common type (sangria means “bloodletting” in Spanish, so the name references the drink’s red color), but there are innumerable variations of this boozy punch. Since there are so many different recipes and potential ingredients, it’s important to ask for a full list of ingredients before ordering and drinking sangria.
The typical sangria ingredients are naturally gluten-free, but it’s important to check for cross-contact: was the knife used to cut the fruit clean, or was it used on bread previously? Was the cutting board the fruit was chopped on cleaned before use? Was the counter wiped down before making the sangria? All are important questions to ask.
If you have questions about ingredients or manufacturing processes of a specific beverage brand, please reach out to the manufacturers directly.
Opt-in to stay up-to-date on the latest news.Yes, I want to advance research No, I'd prefer not to