Yes, all single-ingredient nuts are gluten-free. That means the label will list just one ingredient, the nuts.
Gluten-free nuts include (but are not limited to) peanuts, almonds, walnuts, cashews, chestnuts, pecans, pistachios, hazelnuts, pine, macadamia and Brazil nuts.
Spreads made from nuts, like almond butter, cashew butter, walnut butter, and pecan butter, are usually gluten-free, but be sure to read the ingredients list before using. Peanut butter is also gluten-free. Visit our peanut butter page.
- Flavored nuts could include wheat, barley or rye. Be sure to read the ingredients list before eating!
- Bulk bins are a hotspot for cross-contact. Avoid buying nuts from bulk bins.
- Avoid nuts in a trail mix with gluten-containing ingredients.
- Try making your own gluten-free trail mix! Mix you favorite nuts with raisins, chocolate chips, and any other gluten-free nibbles.
- Grape Nuts is a cereal and is not gluten-free.