Download the Gluten-Free Getting Started Guide
OUR PARTNERS

Is Mayonnaise Gluten-Free?

Yes, in most cases mayonnaise is gluten-free. Mayonnaise or “mayo” is typically made from naturally gluten-free ingredients: eggs, oil, vinegar, lemon and sometimes mustard/mustard seed or other spices. Mayo brands that have a gluten-free label have passed thorough testing and are safe to eat for people with celiac disease. If a jar of Mayonnaise doesn’t have a gluten-free label, please look carefully at ingredients and decided whether you need to choose other choices in the store.

Additionally, sharing a mayonnaise jar at home increases the risk of cross-contact if other people use the mayonnaise on gluten-containing items. To reduce or eliminate the possibility of cross-contact, consider using separate jars or use a “squeeze” bottle/container.

OUR PARTNERS