Yes, guar gum is gluten-free.
Guar gum is made from the guar bean, also known as the cluster bean, gavar, gawar or guvar bean. Once the guar beans are fully grown, they can be harvested and ground into an off-white powder. The guar gum powder is then used as a thickener in sauces, gluten-free breads, and even ice cream.
Gluten is an elastic protein that holds food together. On a gluten-free diet, many baked goods would be crumbly and dry without an alternative thickening agent added in. Guar gum, xanthan gum and cornstarch are all common gluten-free thickeners. However, guar gum’s thickening ability is eight times greater than cornstarch, so only a small amount is needed.
Try using some guar gum the next time you bake, but remember to read the label before purchasing any product to verify it is truly gluten-free.
Opt-in to stay up-to-date on the latest news.Yes, I want to advance research No, I'd prefer not to