Sparkling wine, including Champagne and Prosecco, is naturally gluten-free.
If you’ve visited our “is wine gluten-free?” page then you know that just about all wines are naturally gluten-free. The same holds true for Champagne as the ingredients and process are similar. (Learn more about the winemaking process here.) Like wine, there are cases where cross-contact can occur during processing or packaging, but these are generally few and far between.
Champagne contains higher portions of dissolved CO2 in order to make the beverage bubbly. Make note that this carbonation is caused by natural yeast fermentation, which is gluten-free. This is not the same as brewer’s yeast used in the production of beer, most of which does contain gluten.
Most brands of sparkling wine/Champagne are considered gluten-free and safe to consume for those with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity (aka gluten intolerance). Like wine, some champagne brands label their bottles gluten-free to reflect precautions taken while processing and bottling. However, that does not mean you should stay away from unlabeled bottles as many simply don’t add a label due to the naturally gluten-free nature of the product.
In closing, is champagne gluten-free? Yes, but be careful with the brands that add extra ingredients to their wines for taste or preservation. Every so often manufacturers may change or update ingredients, so always do your research before purchasing.
If you have questions or concerns about a particular brand of sparkling wine/Champagne, we recommend that you reach out directly to that brand to learn about safety precautions taken to ensure their product is truly gluten-free.
Opt-in to stay up-to-date on the latest news.Yes, I want to advance research No, I'd prefer not to