Researchers are looking for feedback from the celiac disease community on their concerns around arsenic in rice.
Have you been following the issue of arsenic in rice? It’s a hot topic in the celiac disease community. It’s been found that rice contains varying amounts of arsenic, depending on a variety of factors. Arsenic is a naturally occurring metal that is harmful to people.
Why is it an issue? There is a concern about the quantity of arsenic being consumed by people in the gluten-free community. That’s because rice is a staple in the gluten-free diet and many of the alternative products are rice-based, so people with celiac disease tend to eat more rice than the average American.
Kristin Voorhees, MA, Beyond Celiac Director of Healthcare Initiatives is collaborating with researchers and other celiac disease advocacy groups:
Researchers are looking to understand your concerns about arsenic in rice and incorporate your concerns into a future study about its effects on the celiac disease community. Please take the survey below to share your concerns about arsenic in your own diet. This is an important opportunity to tell researchers which studies are important to you and your family.