Is Tequila Gluten-Free?

Yes, pure, distilled tequila, usually made with the blue agave plant, is considered gluten-free.

Even if the tequila is mixtos, meaning that it contains at least 51% agave with other sugars added, it will still be safe for people with celiac disease. However, be on the lookout for hidden gluten in tequilas that add flavorings or other additives after distillation. There is also a risk for gluten cross-contact in facilities that process products containing wheat, barley, or rye. Read more at Answers from a Dietitian.

Common Brands of Tequila:

  • Patrón
  • Jose Cuervo
  • Don Julio
  • Cabeza
  • Sauza
  • 1800
  • Familia Camarena
  • Hornitos

Any information on the gluten content of particular brands shared above was obtained during the last update of this page. Be sure to check with the manufacturer for the latest info or if you have any questions.


Want more information on the gluten-free diet? Sign up for our e-newsletters:

OUR PARTNERS