No, farro is not gluten-free. Farro is a type of wheat, so it contains gluten. If you have celiac disease, non-celiac gluten sensitivity or a wheat allergy, do not eat farro.
Farro is often called an ancient grain, and for good reason! It was first cultivated in the Fertile Crescent (what is today the Middle East) around 17,000 years ago. Since then it has been a staple in local and Mediterranean cuisine and is particularly associated with Italian food.
The word “farro” actually refers to multiple species of wheat: usually einkorn, emmer or spelt. That also means none of these grains are gluten-free. Do not eat any of them.
Farro is healthier than most grains and jam-packed with nutrients, but it’s not safe for any person avoiding gluten. If you have celiac disease, non-celiac gluten sensitivity or a wheat allergy, skip anything made with farro.