Is Irish Cream Gluten-Free? | BeyondCeliac.org
Home » The Gluten-Free Diet » Is It Gluten-Free? » Is Irish Cream Gluten-Free?
Download the Gluten-Free Getting Started Guide
OUR PARTNERS

Is Irish Cream Gluten-Free?

Yes, Irish cream, a liqueur containing whiskey and cream, is gluten-free, even if the whiskey (or whisky) is made from wheat, barley or rye. Most unflavored whiskeys are safe for people with celiac disease because of the distillation process. To read more about whiskey, see Is Whiskey Gluten-Free? 

Irish whiskey, the alcohol in Irish cream, is normally made from barley, but because of the way it’s distilled no gluten remains in the final product. However, it is important to note that even though distillation removes gluten, there may be a risk for gluten cross-contact post-distillation in facilities that process products containing wheat, barley or rye. There may also be gluten in flavors or ingredients added after distillation.

Irish cream is often served mixed with other drinks, like coffee, Kahlúa, hot chocolate, and White Russians. Because it is frequently mixed with other drinks and flavorings, it’s important to verify that all ingredients in the final drink are gluten-free. Note that Irish cream does contain cream, a derivative of milk, so if you have problems with milk or lactose this drink may not be a good option for you. 

Irish cream makers

  • Baileys: The Baileys website lists milk as an allergen for Baileys Original Irish Cream, but not gluten or wheat.
  • Kerrygold: Kerrygold Irish cream contains Irish cream, Irish whiskey and chocolate.
  • Carolans: Ingredients in Carolans’ original Irish cream are listed as “the finest Irish Whiskey, farm fresh cream, and the sweetness of natural honey.”
  • Saint Brendan’s: The only mention of ingredients is, “All-natural cream from the finest milking cows and aged, triple-distilled Irish Whiskey form the most authentic, most decadent, most enjoyed Irish Cream Liqueur available.”
  • O’Mara’s: This brand uses wine in its recipe.

If you have any questions about a particular brand of Irish cream, we recommend reaching out directly to the manufacturer.

Any information on the gluten content of particular brands shared above was obtained during the last update of this page. Be sure to check with the manufacturer for the latest info or if you have any questions.

OUR PARTNERS

Think you may have celiac disease?

Symptoms Checklist