Surprise sources of gluten

January 10, 2011

Surprise sources of gluten

January 10, 2011


I was surprised to get sick recently from a quinoa salad seasoned with curry. When I looked online, I saw that curry powder often has wheat flour, so this was probably why. Are there any other hidden glutens that would surprise me? I know about malt and soy sauce, but sometimes I see something like “vegetable protein” and have no idea.




Hi Susan, Seasoning mixes do have the potential to contain gluten. Identifying hidden ingredients is one of the most challenging parts of living with celiac disease.

As you may know, the Food and Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act mandates that the top 8 allergens are listed on ingredient labels. Fortunately for people with celiac disease, if wheat is in a product, it needs to be clearly listed on the label. The difficulty is that barley and rye do not have to be listed at this time.

When I am shopping, I still read every label because manufacturers change formulations from time to time. If there is a questionable ingredient, and you are not sure of the source, contact the manufacturer directly. Usually there is an 800 number or website for consumer questions or comments. If you are not able to get the information, don’ t buy or consume the product.


Nancy Dickens, BS, RD, LDN


Think you may have celiac disease?

Symptoms Checklist