Those newly diagnosed with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity almost immediately realize that traditional beer is no longer an option during happy hour. Perhaps the most popular alcoholic beverage, traditional beer is brewed using malted barley. So if beer is off limits, what other alcoholic beverages and liquors can a person living gluten-free enjoy? Join NFCA as Tricia Thompson, MS, RD, a gluten-free expert dietitian, reviews a hot topic - current gluten-free labeling policies of alcoholic beverages as proposed by the U.S. Department of the Treasury Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau’s Interim Policy established in May 2012.*
When: Tuesday, January 22, 2013
Time: 8:30 p.m. EST / 5:30 p.m. PST
Where: Your computer
Sponsored by Bard's Beer, this webinar is free of charge!
*The TTB has stated that this Interim Policy was released pending a ruling from the FDA. Once the FDA releases a final rule on labeling of food as gluten-free, the TTB will decide whether any revisions are needed.