Can People with Celiac Disease Safely Drink “Gluten-Removed” Beer?

January 15, 2014

Can People with Celiac Disease Safely Drink Barley-Based “Gluten-Removed” Beer?

Tricia Thompson, MS, RD of Gluten Free Watchdog compiled input from many experts to answer this controversial question.

Since “gluten-removed” beer first hit the market, there has been confusion over whether people with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity (‘gluten sensitivity’) can safely consume these beverages.

This controversy surrounds gluten-removed beer because there is no test scientifically validated to confirm if all gluten has been removed from the final product.

In short, gluten particles are broken down during the removal process and current tests may not be able to identify these smaller particles, which can still cause intestinal damage in people with celiac disease.

To help clarify the issue, Tricia Thompson, MS, RD of Gluten Free Watchdog consulted with a variety of industry experts from the fields of mass spectrometry, ELISA testing, and amino acid sequencing of gluten proteins.

Beyond Celiac encourages you to read the full outline from Tricia Thompson further explaining why gluten-removed beer is not yet considered safe for people with gluten-related disorders.

Her breakdown of this issue also includes details on alcoholic beverage labeling and the government bodies that regulate them.

To download the PDF, visit

Related Content: