Beyond Celiac Position on Barley Malt

January 7, 2016

Beyond Celiac Position on Barley Malt

Beyond Celiac recommends that people with celiac disease avoid barley malt ingredients, even if a product is labeled gluten-free.

Based on recommendations by members of our Scientific/Medical Advisory Council, who are third-party independent experts including physicians, researchers, Registered Dietitians and other technical experts, it is our recommendation that people with celiac disease not consume foods that contain barley malt as an ingredient, regardless of the test results or even a potential gluten-free claim. We will continue to monitor new scientific evidence as it becomes available.

OUR PARTNERS