New cooking procedure of French fries at Burger King could cause cross-contact with wheat.
Food Allergy Research & Education (FARE) recently reported that beginning on August 3, 2015, Burger King Corporation will change its cooking procedure for French fries. The French fries will no longer be cooked in a separate fryer, but rather in the same fryer as hash browns. Since the hash browns contain wheat flour, there is an increased risk for the French fries to come in contact with wheat, and therefore are not safe to eat for people with celiac disease.
Burger King will update its website with these changes and will continue to keep consumers informed about nutritional and allergen information in the future.
The National Foundation for Celiac Awareness (NFCA) thanks FARE for sharing this important notice!