Health Canada has completed its
review research on the safety of pure oats.
Information Update: Health Canada has
Released its Position on the Introduction of Pure Oats Into the Diet of
Individuals Diagnosed with Celiac Disease
ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Aug. 10, 2007) - Health Canada has completed its
review of recent scientific research on the safety of pure oats,
uncontaminated with other cereal grains such as wheat, barley and ryes
for people with celiac disease. Most current scientific research
suggests that the majority of people with celiac disease can tolerate
limited amounts of pure oats. These studies have increased interest in
the possibility of adding oats to a gluten-free diet, as this would
permit a wider choice of foods for individuals with celiac disease and
provide an important source of proteins, carbohydrates and fibre.
However, Health Canada also recognizes that some individuals with
celiac disease may be intolerant to even pure oats and that there is
limited information on the long term outcome for these individuals. For
this reason, Health Canada is recommending that individuals with celiac
disease consult their health professional and ensure proper initial and
long term medical follow-up if introducing pure oats into their diet.
Celiac disease is an inherited medical condition where the surface
of the small intestine is damaged by gluten, a group of proteins found
in grains such as wheat, rye, and barley. This damage causes the body
to be unable to absorb nutrients such as protein, fat, carbohydrates,
vitamins and minerals, which are necessary for good health. Currently,
lifelong avoidance of gluten in the diet is the only effective way to
manage this disease.
The gluten in wheat flour helps bread and other baked goods bind
and prevents crumbling. For this reason, gluten is widely used in the
production of many processed and packaged foods, significantly limiting
food choices for those with celiac disease.
Pure oats are grown and produced using methods to minimize the
presence of wheat, including spelt and kamut, barley, rye or triticale.
This helps to make sure that gluten from other grains is not mixed with
the pure oats.
More details on Health Canada's review (http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/fn-an/securit/allerg/cel-coe/oats_cd-avoine_e.html
)of the safety of oats for use by individuals with celiac disease are available on the Health Canada Web site.
For more information on celiac disease and introducing oats into a gluten-free diet, visit The Canadian Celiac Association (http://www.celiac.ca