X You may need to Reload the page to make it work correctly.

Gluten-Free vs. Wheat-Free

October 21, 2016

Question: 

Are wheat-free products also gluten-free? Does gluten-free mean that a products is definitely wheat-free?

Answer: 

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye and barley. So if a product is wheat-free, it may not be gluten-free. If a product is labeled gluten-free, based on FDA regulations, the product must contain less than 20 ppm of gluten. There may be traces of wheat protein in the product below that amount. 

Best,

Natalie Menza, RD
Corporate Dietitian for ShopRite Supermarkets


OUR SPONSORS & PARTNERS

Advertise with us

  • Better bread. Better you. Schar's gluten-free bread.
  • Gluten-Free Pizza, Flatbreads and Wraps from Venice Bakery
  • Cravings Fulfilled Gluten-Free
  • Gluten-Free Resource Directory