Gluten-Free Grains Other Than Rice | BeyondCeliac.org
X You may need to Reload the page to make it work correctly.

Gluten-Free Grains Other Than Rice

January 24, 2012

Question:

My tTG is 296 - that’s strongly positive. I cannot digest rice. Please suggest some other grains that are easy to digest.

From,

Divya

Answer:

Hi Divya. There are a wide variety of gluten-free grains to choose from. All are a good source of fiber and provide a range of vitamins, minerals and antioxidants, as well as have varying tastes, textures and culinary uses. A list of gluten free grains commonly enjoyed by those who have to avoid gluten includes, but is not limited to:

  • quinoa
  • millet
  • amaranth
  • teff
  • wild rice (which is different from white and brown rice, so perhaps you can  tolerate it)
  • sorghum
  • corn/polenta
  • certified gluten-free oats (if you can tolerate them--most celiacs can, but some cannot)
  • buckwheat

Please note that inherently gluten-free grains can become cross contaminated with gluten, so it's a good idea to purchase from manufacturers that incorporate safe practices to prevent contamination from happening.

Sincerely,

Rachel Begun, MS, RD

Related Content:



DO YOU THINK YOU MAY HAVE CELIAC DISEASE?

Complete our Celiac Disease Symptoms Checklist today to find out if you could have celiac disease and how to talk to your doctor about getting tested.