Whey: Gluten-Free?

August 02, 2011

Question:

Is whey gluten-free?

From,

Denise

Answer:

Hi Denise. 100% pure whey protein is naturally gluten-free; however, you may be concerned about some versions of whey protein that contain peptide bound glutamine derived from wheat protein. Those products should not be used if you have celiac disease or are gluten sensitive.

When in doubt, read the label and call the manufacturer if you are unsure. Some of the whey powders I like to use, Design for Health Whey Cool, Jay Robb Whey Powder and Tera’s Whey, are all gluten-free.  Jay Robb’s website does state, however, that it is processed in a facility that processes other products which may contain wheat, etc.

One of my favorite ways (no pun intended!) to use whey protein is in smoothies.  Try blending 1cup vanilla almond milk, 1 cup frozen strawberries, 1 scoop whey powder and 1 tablespoon peanut butter for a PB&J smoothie.  Delicious!

In good health,

EA Stewart, MBA, RD

Related Content:


OUR SPONSORS & PARTNERS

Advertise with us

  • CrunchMaster: Happy, Healthy, & Gluten-Free
  • Allergic Living 10 dollars off
  • Three Bakers Gluten-Free: Find Your New Fave
  • Bake Freely
  • Rudi's Gluten-Free Recipes
  • Blue Diamond Gluten-Free Nut Thins
  • Gluten-Free Resource Directory


DO YOU THINK YOU MAY HAVE CELIAC DISEASE?

Complete our Celiac Disease Symptoms Checklist today to find out if you could have celiac disease and how to talk to your doctor about getting tested.