Yeast and the Gluten-Free Diet

June 06, 2012

Question:

Is yeast considered gluten-free?

From,

Rusty

Answer:

Dear Rusty,

This is a great question. If you are referring to baker’s yeast used in most bread products to help them rise, then yes, this type of yeast is gluten-free.

The same goes for nutritional yeast, which is often used as a flavor enhancer or as a cheese substitute for those on a vegan or dairy-free diet.

The (sometimes) exception to yeast being gluten-free, is with true brewer’s yeast, which is a by-product of beer and thus not considered gluten-free.  To make things a little more complicated, however, there are some “brewer’s yeast” brands that are grown on another medium, such as sugar beets, so these products may be gluten-free.

As with all foods, if you have any doubts about a particular brand of yeast, your best bet is to contact the manufacturer for clarification.

In good health,

EA Stewart, MBA, RD

 

 


OUR SPONSORS & PARTNERS

Advertise with us

  • CrunchMaster: Happy, Healthy, & Gluten-Free
  • Allergic Living 10 dollars off
  • Three Bakers Gluten-Free: Find Your New Fave
  • Bake Freely
  • Rudi's Gluten-Free Recipes
  • Blue Diamond Gluten-Free Nut Thins
  • Gluten-Free Resource Directory


DO YOU THINK YOU MAY HAVE CELIAC DISEASE?

Complete our Celiac Disease Symptoms Checklist today to find out if you could have celiac disease and how to talk to your doctor about getting tested.