Gluten and Caramel Coloring

June 19, 2012

Question:

How do I know what caramel coloring is bad?  I am fairly new to celiac and trying to figure out what items bother me.

Answer:

Tammi,

Your location is not listed, but if you are in the USA, I can answer your question. According to Dr. Peter Green in his book Celiac Disease A Hidden Epidemic, p.281, Caramel color is made from corn in the US and is considered safe.  Shelly Case also states that Caramel Color is made from corn in North America and is considered safe in her book Gluten Free Diet A Comprehensive Resource, p. 20-21.  

Sincerely,

Nancy Dickens, BS, RD, LDN


OUR SPONSORS & PARTNERS

Advertise with us

  • CrunchMaster: Happy, Healthy, & Gluten-Free
  • Allergic Living 10 dollars off
  • Three Bakers Gluten-Free: Find Your New Fave
  • Bake Freely
  • Rudi's Gluten-Free Recipes
  • Blue Diamond Gluten-Free Nut Thins
  • Gluten-Free Resource Directory


DO YOU THINK YOU MAY HAVE CELIAC DISEASE?

Complete our Celiac Disease Symptoms Checklist today to find out if you could have celiac disease and how to talk to your doctor about getting tested.