Oats

 
6/25/2007

Oats

Are oats on a gluten-free diet ok?   

This is quite a controversial case. The problem is that the protein in oats is a relative strand to that of wheat, which technically causes skepticism. Additionally, while oats are being tossed around, the factories where oats are produced generally do not have strict guidelines, which could result in the cross-contamination of different wheat-carrying grains getting into the pure oats.  I would stay away from your mainstream oat brands, such as the ones that come from Quaker, simply for the cross-contamination possibility. Feel free to visit http://www.glutenfreeoats.com/. These oats carry 10 parts per million of gluten, which is generally safe. I will research further into this! <http://www.celiaccentral.org/>